Skip to content

What Is The Order Of The Halloween Movies?

With Halloween approaching, the annual tradition of horror movie marathons takes center stage. Among the most iconic and enduring franchises is the “Halloween” series, which has been scaring and thrilling audiences for decades. However, if you’ve ever tried to figure out the order of the Halloween movies, you know it can be quite the puzzle. So, what is the order of the Halloween movies?

There have been multiple timelines, reboots, and sequels, leaving even die-hard fans a bit perplexed. In this article, we’ll unravel the tangled web of Michael Myers’ cinematic journey and provide a clear guide to the order of the Halloween movies, helping you navigate the spine-tingling world of this beloved horror series.

What Is The Order Of The Halloween Movies?

The “Halloween” movie franchise has a complex timeline with multiple sequels and reboots. The original “Halloween” movie, released in 1978 and directed by John Carpenter, is considered the starting point. However, subsequent movies have followed different timelines, and some have been disregarded as the series was rebooted. Here’s a general order of the “Halloween” movies:

Original Timeline:

1. Halloween (October 25, 1978) – Directed by John Carpenter

Directed by John Carpenter, the original “Halloween” film is a seminal horror classic. It follows the story of Michael Myers, a masked killer who escapes from a psychiatric hospital & come back to his hometown of Haddonfield, Illinois, to terrorize a teenage babysitter named Laurie Strode, played by Jamie Lee Curtis.

2. Halloween II (October 30, 1981) – Directed by Rick Rosenthal

This direct sequel, also directed by Carpenter, picks up immediately where the first film left off. It continues the night of terror as Laurie Strode is taken to the hospital while Michael Myers relentlessly pursues her.

3. Halloween III: Season of the Witch (October 22, 1982) – Directed by Tommy Lee Wallace

Breaking away from the Michael Myers storyline, this film introduced an entirely different plot involving a sinister Halloween mask company. It’s often seen as an outlier in the series due to its lack of connection to the previous films.

4. Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers (October 21, 1988) – Directed by Dwight H. Little

This installment marked the return of Michael Myers after the deviation in “Halloween III.” The story focuses on Myers’ return to Haddonfield to target his niece, Jamie Lloyd.

5. Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers (October 13, 1989) – Directed by Dominique Othenin-Girard

Continuing from the previous film, this movie explores the ongoing battle between Michael Myers and his niece, Jamie.

6. Halloween: The Curse of Michael Myers (September 29, 1995) – Directed by Joe Chappelle

This film delves into the supernatural aspects of Michael Myers’ origins and family connections. It introduces a cult that worships Myers and delves into his past.

7. Halloween H20: 20 Years Later (August 5, 1998) – Directed by Steve Miner

A direct sequel to “Halloween II,” this film ignores the events of the previous sequels and brings back Laurie Strode, now living under a new identity, facing off against Michael Myers once again.

8. Halloween: Resurrection (July 12, 2002) – Directed by Rick Rosenthal

Following the events of “Halloween H20,” this film sees a group of teenagers entering the Myers house for a reality TV show, leading to more deadly encounters with Michael Myers.

9. Halloween (August 31, 2007) – Directed by Rob Zombie (Remake)

Directed by Rob Zombie, this is a reboot of the original film, offering a more detailed look at Michael Myers’ backstory and descent into madness.

10. Halloween II (August 28, 2009) – Directed by Rob Zombie (Sequel to the Remake)

Rob Zombie’s sequel to his 2007 reboot continues to explore Michael Myers’ psyche and the aftermath of his killing spree.

Reboot Timeline (2018):

1. Halloween (October 19, 2018) – Directed by David Gordon Green (Direct sequel to the original)

This film serves as a direct sequel to the original 1978 “Halloween” and ignores all other sequels. It reunites Jamie Lee Curtis as Laurie Strode, who has been living in fear of Michael Myers for decades.

2. Halloween Kills (October 15, 2021) – Directed by David Gordon Green

The sequel to the 2018 film, “Halloween Kills,” continues the story with a focus on the aftermath of Michael Myers’ return to Haddonfield and the town’s attempt to confront the terror.

3. Halloween Ends (October 14, 2022) – Directed by David Gordon Green

 It serves as the sequel to “Halloween Kills” (2021) and is the final installment in the trilogy that started with the 2018 film. The plot revolves around Corey Cunningham, a young man who becomes infatuated with Laurie Strode’s granddaughter, Allyson. As he crosses paths with the infamous Michael Myers, he turns into a murderous outcast.

Bottom Line

This was all about what is the order of the Halloween movies. The Halloween movie franchise has a complex history with multiple timelines, sequels, and reboots that can be confusing for even the most dedicated fans. 

However, understanding the order of the Halloween movies allows you to fully immerse yourself in the chilling saga of Michael Myers. Whether you’re a horror aficionado or just looking for a frightful night of entertainment, knowing the chronological sequence of these films is essential. 

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *